Dreamer and Realist

The 300-ring circus of my life…

Blogging A-Z: F April 7, 2011

Filed under: Blogging A-Z — Ms Dreamer @ 1:27 pm

Facebook.

I both love and loathe thee. I am addicted to your charms and your connections, but I’m not addicted to your suggestions as to whom I should be friends with.

Don’t get me wrong; I love the fact that fourteen of seventeen students from my eighth grade class have reconnected in a group. I love that there are friends that I rarely spoke to in high school have become better friends. And I do like making new friends and meeting people…but only if I’ve met them somewhere else first.

For example: I have four gal pals that I have never met in person, but we have been friends for more than two years, beginning when we were trying to get pregnant. I found them through an online forum. Doesn’t matter to me that they’re all from across the pond (Norway, Ireland, England, and Italy), they’re fab girls and one day, I will meet them.

Now, when Facebook tells me that I need to be friends with X because A, D, and Z are friends with them, even though I’ve never heard of this person, that’s taking it a little far. Of course, Facebook doesn’t know that I don’t know this person, but still. This isn’t the Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon.

There are some people that are my friends on FB that I never hear from. If there’s a specific reason that I’m keeping them, I do; otherwise, I’ve removed them from my friends list, especially if they tell me that they’re just there to collect friends and not do anything on FB. Psht – gone.

Games? No thank you. I did at first, but I’m over that. It’s what my iPhone is for anyway! 🙂

What are your thoughts on FB?

 

2 Responses to “Blogging A-Z: F”

  1. ahelmic6 Says:

    I hate facey spacey, yet I stay because of certain friends, like you guys :). Or like Andy’s family. I have been noticing a lot of friend suggestions for people I have never met, through people I do not know very well (like Andy’s family).

    If all of you guys had a blog and posted regularly (not talking about you, moreso Younger Brother Realist…is that the name you gave him?) but still, if people had blogs and blogged regularly, I would be following that and ditch facebook entirely. 🙂

    • Yeah, that’s the name I gave him. The other one would be Youngest Brother Realist. 🙂
      I’m actually getting into this A-Z thing. It’s fun…and I might have a doozy of one tomorrow for G.


Leave a Reply

