Dreamer and Realist

The 300-ring circus of my life…

Blogging A-Z: J April 11, 2011

Filed under: Blogging A-Z — Ms Dreamer @ 9:41 pm

J

As in job.

As in what I have, but I would prefer a career.

I’d love to go back to school.

Study psychology. History. Art. Music.

Math & Science? Not so much. I’m a bad scientist, and an even shittier math person. Maybe if I could study the paranormal…wait, that shit scares me (I have an overactive imagination).

I want a job where I can be outside…or at least SEE outside. The one I have now is not very conducive to creativity. I have three and a half walls, no windows except out onto the plant floor, and there are no windows out there, either.

LDs, I need sunshine (on a cloudy day) and rain and dirt. O dear…I’m a hippie. 🙂 To be a DNR officer, it’s lots of work, and there’s never a guarantee that you’re going to have a job. I’m not complaining about the work, trust me. I’m too much of a softie.

I love animals, but I couldn’t be a vet – I’m not that good at science.

It’s this underlying fear that I’ll never be more than what I am now…and that’s terrifying. I’m either overqualified or underqualified; mostly over for entry-level positions. What do they not get? It’s a change – I’m not going to swoop right in and master everything in a day – I’m not that brilliant.

Before you tell me I’m being too hard on myself, I do see Mr Realist and I somewhere in a smallish college town, with a used bookstore/cafe-type place that’s open till the wee hours of the morning. It’s just not there yet.

Do you like your job?

Ms D

 

Leave a Reply

